top of page

Dragon Lines,Ley Lines & Earth Chakras - What's it all about?

As you know I’m the Practical Mystic, and as such I thought I’d give you a short and sweet practical explanation of some concepts you might have heard about in spiritual circles.

Dragon lines, ley lines, and earth chakras - I intend to keep it simple!

Dragon lines, ley lines, and earth chakras are concepts related to the Earth's energy and geomancy, but they originate from different cultural backgrounds and have distinct interpretations.

Dragon Lines:

  1. Cultural Origin: Dragon lines are rooted in Chinese geomancy, particularly Feng Shui.

  2. Concept: In Feng Shui, dragon lines, or "lung mei," represent the flow of energy (Qi) through the Earth. These lines are believed to be the paths along which the Earth’s energy flows, much like veins and arteries in the human body.

  3. Function: The alignment and interaction of dragon lines are considered crucial for harmonizing the environment with human activity. Proper alignment is believed to bring prosperity, health, and good fortune.

  4. Symbolism: The dragon, a powerful and auspicious symbol in Chinese culture, represents these energy lines. The dragon's movements are seen as an embodiment of the Earth's energy.

  5. Application: In practice, Feng Shui practitioners use the concept of dragon lines to site buildings, graves, and other structures in ways that align with these natural energy flows.

Ley Lines:

  1. Cultural Origin: Ley lines are a concept that emerged in Western geomancy and archaeology and were particularly popularized in the early 20th century by Alfred Watkins in the UK.

  2. Concept: Ley lines are alignments of ancient sites and landmarks (such as standing stones, churches, and hilltops) that form straight lines across the landscape. They are believed to mark prehistoric trade routes and have spiritual significance. My interpretation is that they are akin to the Meridian Lines in the human body.

  3. Function: Ley lines are often considered to be paths of natural energy or spiritual power. They connect significant ancient sites and serve as channels of psychic and spiritual energy.

  4. Symbolism: Unlike dragon lines, ley lines do not have a specific symbolic animal but are often depicted as lines of energy or power connecting sacred sites.

  5. Application: Researchers of ley lines study maps and landscapes to find and trace these lines. They are often used in modern spiritual practices or energy work.

Key Differences:

  • Cultural Background: Dragon lines are integral to Chinese culture and Feng Shui, while ley lines are a more recent concept from Western geomancy and archaeology.

  • Energy Flow vs. Alignment: Dragon lines focus on the flow of Qi (energy) through the Earth and its impact on human well-being, whereas some believe that ley lines emphasize the alignment of ancient sites and landmarks, often with mystical or spiritual significance; I also believe that energy flows along many of the ley lines around the planet.

  • Symbolism: Dragon lines are symbolically tied to the dragon in Chinese culture, representing strength and auspiciousness. Ley lines do not have a specific animal symbolism.

Both concepts reflect humanity's long-standing interest in understanding and harnessing the Earth's natural energies, albeit from different cultural perspectives and with different interpretations.

Lightworkers work with both these energies, clearing energetic blocks and helping shift and ground energy from the Divine for the benefit of the planet and its inhabitants.

We can tap into these energies for our own benefit and also support the planet by channeling Divine energy into Gaia’s energetic systems.

Our planet also has chakras – main energy points – in the same way as humans and all sentient beings do. Here’s a simple overview:

The Seven Major Earth Chakras:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara) - Mount Shasta, California, USA:

  • Function: Represents the foundation of Earth's energy and is associated with survival, grounding, and stability.

  • Significance: Mount Shasta is a powerful spiritual centre, a place of refuge and transformation.

  1. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) - Lake Titicaca, Peru/Bolivia:

  • Function: Associated with creativity, fertility, emotions, and relationships.

  • Significance: Lake Titicaca is one of the highest navigable lakes in the world and holds deep cultural and spiritual importance for the Inca and pre-Inca civilizations.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) - Uluru and Kata Tjuta, Australia:

  • Function: Represents personal power, will, and energy distribution.

  • Significance: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and Kata Tjuta (The Olgas) are sacred to the Aboriginal people and are places of great spiritual power.

  1. Heart Chakra (Anahata) – Glastonbury UK:

  • Function: Centre of love, compassion, and connection.

  • Significance: Glastonbury is often associated with the legends of King Arthur and the Holy Grail, as well as being linked to other ancient spiritual traditions and energies.

  1. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) - Great Pyramid of Giza, Egypt:

  • Function: Represents communication, expression, and truth.

  • Significance: The Great Pyramid is a marvel of ancient engineering and has long been a source of mystery and spiritual contemplation.

  1. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) - Currently between Stonehenge and Avebury UK:

  • Function: Associated with intuition, insight, and higher consciousness.

  • Significance: This less well-known location is said to be a powerful energy centre that influences vision and perception.

  1. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) - Mount Kailash, Tibet:

  • Function: Represents enlightenment, spiritual connection, and universal consciousness.

  • Significance: Mount Kailash is considered sacred in several religions, including Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, and Bon. It is believed to be the axis mundi, the centre of the world.

Additional Concepts:

  • Ley Line Vortices: Many Earth chakras are located at the intersections of ley lines or other geomagnetic lines, which channel Gaia's energy. These locations are often visited by those seeking spiritual growth, healing, and a deeper connection with the Earth.


The concept of Earth chakras underscores a holistic view of Gaia as a living entity with its own energy system. By recognizing and understanding these energy centres, we can better align ourselves with the natural world and promote global healing and balance.

Those of us who work with Violet Flame energies also know that the planet’s Violet Flame Chakra, at Leith Hill in the UK, was awakened in 2014. Its function is to transmute negative energies throughout the planetary energy system.

If you’re interested in joining me at my experiential days and retreats in Glastonbury, Avebury and Leith Hill simply contact me for more information.

I hope this short blog has whetted your appetite for finding out more - working with these incredible, powerful, planetary energies is a true blessing.

As always, exercise discretion and find your own truth in the mountains of information available.

Abundant blessings

Angela Orora

87 views0 comments


bottom of page